Southeast CTSA Consortium

Visit Web Site

With the focus on addressing some of the most complex health problems facing the southern region of the country, eight CTSA principal investigators representing seven states have united to form the Southeastern CTSA Consortium (SECC). Formation of the SECC is an important step toward improving the speed, efficiency, and efficacy of prevention and treatment efforts to address important health problems including stroke, cardiovascular disease, obesity, type 2 diabetes, and low birth weight. Meeting for the first time in early 2010, the SECC discussed two projects that sites will collaborate on in the coming year: the use and sharing of electronic medical data for clinical research and addressing health disparities in the South.


  • Duke University*
  • Emory University (partnering with Morehouse School of Medicine and Georgia Institute of Technology)*
  • Medical University of South Carolina*
  • The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill*
  • The University of Alabama at Birmingham*
  • University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences*
  • University of Florida*
  • Vanderbilt University (partnering with Meharry Medical College)*
* CTSA Institution