Midwest Consortium

With an emphasis on educational issues and a goal of sharing resources, best practices and facilitating collaboration, members of the Midwest Consortium (MC) partner to strengthen clinical research education programs, mentoring, and career development opportunities for scholars. The Midwest Consortium for education and research collaboration began in 2006 with three Roadmap K12 institutions initiating annual meetings. The consortium expanded as other institutions were funded under the CTSA and IDeA mechanisms. The annual meetings are devoted to enhancing scientific research education and collaboration for K12 and KL2 scholars. The MC provides a unique opportunity for scholars, mentors and program leadership to focus on addressing specific challenges and opportunities in conducting research in the Midwest. The consortium includes representatives from regional CTSA and K12 institutions and from institutions in Institutional Development Award (IDeA) states.


  • Mayo Clinic College of Medicine*
  • Medical College of Wisconsin*
  • Northwestern University*
  • University of Chicago*
  • University of Illinois, Chicago*
  • University of Iowa*
  • University of Michigan at Ann Arbor*
  • University of Minnesota*
  • University of Wisconsin*
  • University of Kansas
  • University of Missouri
  • Washington University in St. Louis*
  • University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • University of South Dakota
* CTSA Institution