Appalachian Translational Research Network

Visit Web Site

The Appalachian Translational Research Network (ATRN) is committed to addressing the significant health challenges and disparities specific to Appalachia by enhancing research collaborations to speed the translation of scientific discoveries to health improvements for this region. The ATRN seeks to foster Community Engagement and Outreach to those in the Appalachian region. In addition, the ATRN will serve as a conduit for enhancing T1 research collaborations in areas relevant to the chronic health conditions prevalent in Appalachia. Initial members consist of CTSA institutions University of Kentucky and its partner, Marshall University, The Ohio State University, and University of Cincinnati, as well as non-CTSA institutions in the Appalachian region, including Ohio University, West Virginia University, Morehead State University, and University of Pikeville.


  • University of Kentucky Center for Clinical and Translational Science*
  • The Ohio State University Center for Clinical and Translational Science*
  • University of Cincinnati Center and Translational Science and Training*
  • Marshall University
  • Morehead State University
  • West Virginia University
  • Ohio University
  • University of Pikeville
* CTSA Institution